The calm before the storm?

Donuts. Big sugary donuts.

That pretty much dominated my thinking this morning when I was at the Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh.

I was in the RIE for my CT scan, and as I was banned from having breakfast I was starving.

Then when I got into the scanning room, and saw the big, imposing circular machine, I recalled someone’s description of the CT machine as a great big donut.

image

And my belly let out a bit huge rumble!

So that’s the latest phase of the treatment plan now underway.

As anticipated, the CT scan was simple and relatively painless. A bit of waiting about, a litre of water to drink, an injection of iodine to help identify where the cancer has reached, 5 minutes inside the donut being told when to breath, then out and home (without a donut!).

Results will be with me in 7-10 days.

Meantime I got to choose tea tonight – not quite the last supper but I’ll be dining courtesy of NHS for the few days and nights.

I plumped for mince and cheese nachos. Can’t quite see that being on the menu at the Western!

Tonight’s about packing my bag and making final preps for admission tomorrow.

I might even read up on things again and see if the info sticks this time. What I do know is that I get bone marrow sample tests (including a needle into my bone described bluntly as “like using an apple corer” – nice 😁)

I’ll also start my combination drug chemo treatment called R-CHOP.

Good job I’m well used to acronyms because there seem hundreds more in the world of cancer treatment!

Guess all that’s left is to get my big boy pants ready, get a good night’s sleep, and get ready to treat tomorrow like it’s the first day of the rest of my life πŸ˜€

A x

About Andrew Slorance

Husband, father, son, brother, cyclist, pen pusher, pedant, contrarian , fights Mantle Cell Lymphoma in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The calm before the storm?

  1. Lynda Nicholson says:

    Sending you positive thoughts and all good wishes for success in what lies ahead Andrew.

    Like

  2. Grainne Kelly says:

    Andrew , all the best for tomorrow , thinking about you . Great blog .

    Like

  3. Rob says:

    Cheese nachos? Really? Hope you get a private room tomorrow and not on the ward – Farty pants!

    Stand tall, big lad.. Eyes front!

    Like

  4. Faith Tait says:

    #backingslorance all the way! Sending lots of positive thoughts and energy for you and your family

    Like

  5. John Handling says:

    Good luck Andrew πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Good luck Andrew … Lots of people out here rooting for you!

    Like

  7. Donald Peddie says:

    Good luck Andrew. You seem to be about a month ahead of me in your treatment plan. I don’t yet have a name, although lung cancer has been mentioned. Only slightly ironic in a lifelong non smoker.
    Still firmly in the phoney war.

    Like

  8. Debbie Thomson says:

    Best of luck on your journey and I have loved reading the insight in to your thoughts, very thought provoking, keep up with them x

    Like

  9. Carol McCall says:

    All the best for tomorrow Cx

    Like

  10. Biz Reid says:

    Your blog is very inspiring – best of luck for tomorrow and beyond.πŸ€

    Like

  11. David Chapman says:

    Kick on son ! Beat the fucker !!

    Like

  12. Ross Proctor says:

    All the best Andrew. You could have a career in this writing thing – you’re actually quite good at it. It’s good following your thoughts so please keep it up. Will be thinking of you. R

    Like

  13. Michelle Harrity says:

    Best of luck Andrew. I’ve only met you briefly as we bumped into each other in the cycling locker rooms of a morning but was shocked to hear your news.The blogs are great – really insightful and honest. Sending good wishes to you and your family.Michelle

    Like

  14. Ann Deans says:

    Good luck Drew. Will be thinking about you. Are they keeping you in overnight or for a few days. I had my chemo on a day patient basis. It was R-CHOP too. Your pee will be bright red so don’t be alarmed. Take care.

    Like

  15. Jane Russell says:

    Best of luck ..My pal who went through similar treatment and is a total and utter coward said the bone marrow thingy wasn’t too bad so hope its the same for you!! take care!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

