Starting over

Right, let’s try and make this a week of positives.

I got a bit of a fright last week, but hopefully I can draw on the experience to help me better handle the rest of the treatment and its effects over the coming months.

The good news is that I feel great today. Not quite a new man, but certainly a far better man than the one I was a week ago.

This time next week, the plan is that I’ll be back in the Cancer Centre for phase two of the chemo – a couple of pretty powerful drugs apparently. But hopefully no more than a three night stay and home on Christmas Eve.

If that doesn’t happen, it doesn’t happen, and I’ll be gutted. But I’m focussed on nothing else than being woken in my own bed on Christmas morning by three very excited kids, and a day of fun and relaxation.

It was good to wake up in my own bed again this morning after four rather tortuous days in the Western. Tortuous due to the fact that I was actually reasonably ill the first two days, then totally recovered but under observation for the last two days.

A hospital ward is an odd place to spend your hours when you are actually feeling fit and healthy. The closest thing to prison I’d imagine. Well apart from a Motorway Service Station Travelodge…

It’s only feeling bright eyed and bushy tailed today that I realise just how low I was during and after my steroid treatment last weekend.

As I do at work in post-incident periods, I’ve put myself through a de-brief process, trying to identify lessons and to plan better for future dips in my physical and mental wellbeing. Pre-packing Pringles crisps in my overnight bag is one key lesson I’ve already taken on board!

One good disappointing thing about being in hospital unexpectedly is that I missed the putting up of the Christmas Trees. Millie did the sitting room tree on her lonesome and did a fantastic job – so-much-so that she is now the house’s official tree decorator. If I can just get her trained in putting the boxes up in the loft, then it’s a big win-win!

The kids have been brilliant over the past few weeks. I was lucky enough to get to the girls’ dance show at the plush Prestonfield House Hotel last Monday night, then to Olivia’s school nativity on Tuesday. I’m also intending to be at Finlay’s nursery family singing on Friday.

The only big event I missed out on was Olivia’s 6th birthday bowling party on Friday afternoon, but got out of hospital yesterday for her ‘proper’ birthday, getting home to a mad house of presents and cakes before heading out for a very nice family birthday tea.

So, what to do this week now that I’m fit and functioning again? There’s still some medical appointments to fulfil, but I’d love nothing more than to make this a ‘normal’ week, or as normal as you can this close to Christmas.

And keep my fingers crossed that the thermometer stays below 38 until I’m officially due back in on the 21st!

A x

 

About Andrew Slorance

Husband, father, son, brother, cyclist, pen pusher, pedant, contrarian , fights Mantle Cell Lymphoma in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Starting over

  1. And above 36…… sssh!

    Like

  2. Sheila thomson says:

    Drew,I can only say how good it is to hear you are feeling better!my thoughts travelled back to my journey and to be honest The western was more like my home than Morrison place.the upside is that I came through the crap days always saying tomorrow will be a better day.I like you knew there would be tough times ahead but I was determined that I would get through the years treatment ! Stay strong ! You can do this and you are in the care of a world renowned cancer centre! Love to you all! X

    Like

  3. Jane Russell says:

    I will keep my fingers crossed and speak to my spiritual friends for your return home on Christmas Eve!! Wishing you and your family a wonderful Festive Season……………….Jane 🙂

    Like

  4. Linda says:

    Good morning Andrew. I hope this week is a lot better for you. It’s just marvellous that you are sharing your journey with us and I hope you are comforted that we will be with you every step of the way – hoping and supporting.x

    Like

  5. Sandy Mckenzie says:

    No surrender Andrew!

    Like

Leave a Reply

