Fundraising Time!

Yup, the chemo has finally driven me mental.

For someone who could barely run a bath when I was *fit*, I’ve taken the plunge and will do my first ever road run, mid-treatment, to raise money for the marvellous Maggie’s Centre in Edinburgh.

I’ve not totally lost my marbles, and won’t be going for the marathon, half or 10km, but on Sunday, March 6 (yes, just three weeks away!), all drag my sorry ass and bald head around the Meadows 5km in an effort to ‘give something back’ to a charity which has already provided some fantastic help and support to me and my family.

I’d be delighted of you could sponsor me – details are here:

www.virginmoneygiving.com/AndrewSlorance

I go in to the Western next Monday for my 5th round of chemo then, all going to plan, will be in for my sixth and final round of scheduled chemo on Monday 14th of March, before the more serious business of my stem cell transplant happens over the spring and summer.

So perfect timing for a wee run around the park for a good cause!

I say run – I suspect it will be more like a fast-ish walk, with lots of stops for breathers. Partly because I can’t really train for it, and partly because my various blood counts will also probably be on the low side, making physical exertion a bit more challenging!

12072806_891131544303841_3954070438757811561_n

[SMALL PRINT – should I be unable to undertake this event due to health reasons, I will do another 5km when I’m fit enough to do so. Promise!].

Why Maggie’s? Why not?

Maggie’s offers free practical, emotional and social support to people with cancer and their families and friends. Help is offered freely to anyone with any type of cancer.

Their beautifully designed facility in Edinburgh stands in stark contrast to the frankly past-its-sell-by-date Western General Hospital, and at a basic level if offers an oasis of calm and tranquillity that I can enjoy when I’m in for treatment and not attached to a drip.

They’ve also played a big part already in helping the kids understand what’s happening and answering their questions in a thoughtful and age-appropriate manner. And they’ve got great nooks and crannies where Millie actually wants to go and do homework on her visits to see me!

There’s loads of support sessions and classes that we can go to during and after treatment – Millie and Olivia are going on a tour of the cancer treatment facilities at the end of the month that’ll show them how CT scanners and Radiography machines work using teddies etc (Louise and I would love to do it to but it’s strictly kids only!).

And then there’s biscuits, cakes, coffee and juice – a big chunk of any funds raised will go to replenishing the stocks that my hungry and thirsty lot have devoured already!

They’ve got plans to build an extension so it’s likely that any funds raised will go primarily to this project, which will help thousands of families like mine for many years to come.

If you can help out at all, we’d be very grateful.

Thanks.

Andrew x

 

 

About Andrew Slorance

Husband, father, son, brother, cyclist, pen pusher, pedant, contrarian , fights Mantle Cell Lymphoma in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fundraising Time!

  1. johnbooth224 says:

    Good for you. Happy to donate and if you want a running buddy on the day let me know.

    Like

  2. Just catching up on on messages. Thanks for the offer but I think I’d embarrass an experienced runner like you. Even running backwards, blindfolded, on one leg, you’d beat me! Hopefully my blood count will be better on 6 March than it is this week (same stage in post chemo). I’m needing a double blood transfusion today due to my haemaglobin numbers being so low (they’re what manage oxygen in bloodstream). Explains why I’m breathless climbing the stairs! Hopefully I’ll get an athlete’s blood today!

    Like

Leave a Reply

