Let the sleeping begin!

Day 2 in the Big Brother house, and Andrew just wants to sleep – or escape.

There’s something about being shut in a room all day, with the sun shining outside, that makes you want to get a good bit of shut eye.

That, and of course the toxic drugs now circulating through your bloodstream.

I’m actually on Day -6 according the Stem Cell diary. Second day of my ‘LEAM’ chemotherapy schedule, the conditioning programme ahead of returning those magic Stem Cells.

In drugs terms, that means I’m getting two doses of Cytarabine 12 hours apart (10am and 10pm) and two big bags of Etoposide in the afternoon. And the usual cocktail of anti sickeness and other tablets throughout the day.

It wasn’t long after getting the I-V drugs kicked off that my tiredness kicked off in earnest. Dozy late morning then three hour kip this afternoon.

In between times I had two visits.

Met the hospital dietician for the first time and the good news is that she approves of my snack stash! And there’s a ‘secret menu’ that we can use for meals that includes bacon rolls, baked potatoes and fish and chips!

My parents also visited and brought me my favourite buttered Hawick rolls with butcher’s cooked ham. Really are the business.

image

So that’s about it for my day.

Feeling slightly nauseous tonight and can detect a reduced appetite, but that’s no great concern given the two stones I put on through my various chemo rounds. (I did, though, lose three stones in the year before diagnosis, so I’m still a stoner in credit!)

Roll on more of the same tomorrow. And the day after. And the day after that…

A x

About Andrew Slorance

Husband, father, son, brother, cyclist, pen pusher, pedant, contrarian , fights Mantle Cell Lymphoma in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Let the sleeping begin!

  1. Susan Scott says:

    Glad you not lost your sense of humour. Love the rolls and ham story but how am a bit surprised. It’s the little things. Look forward to tomorrow’s read. X

    Like

  2. Lynda says:

    Evening Andrew. Just checking in to see how you’re doing today. Glad to see your impressive stash of goodies made the grade … Now to enjoy them! Once you’re through this you’ll soon return to your previous sylph like figure I’m sure.

    Like

  3. Ruth Allen says:

    Good luck, Andrew. I went through it with a friend of mine two years ago and I know it’s brutal. I also know you’re a man up to a challenge! Sending you good wishes and anti-sickness vibes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

