Still here.

It’s not like I wasn’t warned that weeks stuck in a wee room could hammer you mentally as well as physically.

I can hardly say that the consultants and other experts – including those who’d been through it before – didn’t stress just how hellish the stem cell return was likely to be.

And I’d be wrong to beat myself up into believing I didn’t listen, that I was so blasé I thought I’d be comfortably in and out in 3 weeks with barley an issue.

But now, as I start to clamber of of the big black hole of horribleness I’ve been in for past fortnight, these are thoughts rushing through my mind.

I thought you were deserving of an update. You’ve kept messaging me such brilliant words of support and encouragement and have had back from me, well, nada. Zilch.

I’m not going to say much more tonight than I’ve had my new stem cells for 10 days and there’s signs today they are finally grafting.

I no longer feel like I’m swallowing broken glass every time I drink (I’m still not on solid food yet…).

I will give a retrospective set of updates in coming week, which will include:

  • Morphine induced dreams including my support to the Royal Family’s health needs.
  • My new found love and hate for ice lollies.
  • Shaving my moustache with finger nails.
  • Getting my balanced meal in once A2 sized bag
  • Cleaners who come in and say how awful it is to be stuck in at the same time as reminding you what smashing weather we’re having.
  • Living a week (almost) not even looking at Facebook. It can be done.
  • Experiencing an unimaginable nightmare that Hibs actually won the Cup and Rangers actually signed Joey Barton.
  • And much, much more.

But for new, sorry for switching you all off for past two weeks and I hope you’ll welcome me back with same love and support as before.

A x

About Andrew Slorance

Husband, father, son, brother, cyclist, pen pusher, pedant, contrarian , fights Mantle Cell Lymphoma in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Still here.

  1. Samantha says:

    Always.
    A relief to hear from you. Take care.

    Like

  2. FionaR says:

    Welcome back, it’s so good to hear from you!

    Like

  3. MGT says:

    Welcome back Andrew! Smashing to read your blog again . You were conspicuous by your absence so it’s good to have you back. Hang on in there! XXX

    Like

  4. Sheila Thomson says:

    Drew stick in there you have done brilliantly and won’t be long till you get back to some normality with your lovely family!stay strong!x

    Like

  5. Rebecca says:

    Nice to hear from you again! We’ve not met but I’ve been following your blog from afar after seeing it on Saltire at work – thought it was about time I commented! Sounds like you’re doing fantastically well to get through. Just keep going!

    Like

  6. Graeme D says:

    Andrew. Great to hear you blogging again. I think the stem cells must be grafting since your sense of humour is intact.

    Like

  7. Biz Reid says:

    Good to hear your update. Can’t even imagine what this has all been like. Keep going, your friends and family are waiting for you.

    Like

  8. bobbyronnie@btinternet.com says:

    Andrew Great to have you back.

    Bobby

    Sent from my HTC

    Like

  9. Paula says:

    Good to hear from you – looking forward to some more of your stories when you’re up to it. Weather hasn’t been that smashing tbh !

    Like

  10. Jane says:

    Great to have an update😊here’s to the next few weeks going fast!!!!

    Like

  11. aileenlamb says:

    Hang in there. You WILL turn the corner and the sun WILL still be shining when you get there.

    Like

  12. Gregor says:

    Glad to see you’ve surfaced. Been missing you.

    Like

  13. Lynda says:

    Just catching up on your blogs. Sending positive vibes and hope you’re feeling a little more like yourself now x

    Like

  14. Gillian says:

    Welcome back. Good to hear from you. Soleros….can feel a twitter photo coming on…

    Like

  15. Welcome back! Looking forward, as always, to hearing about things have been going ……the retrospective sounds like a belter!!
    Cx
    PS it raining, flooding and freezing here!

    Like

  16. Stephen Marvin says:

    Hi Andrew,
    Don’t know where you’re at at the moment, but hope you find the strength to push through. I’ve been home just over a week and I’m beginning to feel almost normal again. I was very dehydrated and lost a lot of weight. I hope you’re ready to leave. I think it’s only when you get home that you can really start to recuperate.

    All the Best

    Steve

    Like

Leave a Reply

