We can rebuild him – better, stronger, faster (I wish…)

Who recognises the words in the headline?

Those of you of a ‘certain age’ might remember the 1970’s sci-fi classic ‘The Six Million Dollar Man’ starring Lee Majors as an injured astronaut ‘rebuilt’ after an aircraft crash.

The opening sequence in series one featured a voiceover saying: “We can rebuild him. We have the technology. We can make him better than he was. Better…stronger…faster.”

I’m no bionic man. And though I know my treatment hasn’t been cheap, I hope it hasn’t reached the $6,000,000 mark yet!

Six-million-dollar-man.jpeg

But I’m reminded of the rebuilding of Steve Austin by the fact that (a) the chemotherapy drugs I’ve taken in the past year have, at times, left me feeling barely alive and (b) they are having to ‘re-boot’ my immune system from scratch – it was totally wiped out by the Stem Cell Transplant.

Point (b) means that I have to get all my lifetime immunisations again – which doesn’t half take me back to my school days and memories of queuing up for jabs in the corridor, with the horror stories of what we were about to face cascading down the line Chinese Whispers-style!

Last month, my consultant gave me a neat A4 sheet of paper setting out my re-immunisation timeline for the next 6-9 months.

There’s a fair bit of medical jargon in there, but from what I can gather I’ll need to get the following:

  • Pneumonia (x2)
  • Flu (annually)
  • Diptheria, Tetanus and Poliovirus (x3)
  • Haemophilius influenza and Meningococcus (x3)
  • Tetravalent Meningococcus
  • Hepatitus B (x3)
  • Measles, Mumps and Rubella

So the consultant appointments and hospital visits might be diminishing, but I think the GP practice nurses are going to get to know me (and my continued fear of needles) very well.

Still, if it’s good enough for the kids…

PS – I was walking the dog (or was the dog walking me?) on Blackford Hill in Edinburgh when I caught this view of the path, the grit bin and the crane. It seemed like a good metaphor for the story above – still a long road ahead, maybe a bit treacherous in places, but the rebuilding process will take place.

14199547_10155076905663682_1902732172562964285_n

A x

 

 

 

About Andrew Slorance

Husband, father, son, brother, cyclist, pen pusher, pedant, contrarian , fights Mantle Cell Lymphoma in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to We can rebuild him – better, stronger, faster (I wish…)

  1. Jim.Reville@gov.scot says:

    Great blog Andrew – sounds like progress is good – I’m naturally inclined towards ‘injecting’ a joke at this ‘point’ but I think you’re getting enough ‘needle’.

    Hope to see you real soon Boss.

    Best

    Jim

    PS was it not ‘gentlemen’ – we can rebuild him…….?

    Like

  2. Jane says:

    I remember this programme well ha ha but I am sure I was very young 🙂 Your photo says it all Andrew……………a .long, but worthwhile road!!! Just taking baby steps eh?!?!

    Like

  3. Tim Barr says:

    Thought-provoking and inspiring Andrew. Thank you .

    Like

Leave a Reply

