Running for Maggie’s

Not me this time. Think I’m even less up for 5km than I was when I did my fundraiser between chemo rounds 5 and 6!

Nope, this time it’s my Scottish Government colleague Gordon Paterson who’s putting on his running shoes for the small matter of the Loch Ness Marathon this weekend – his first 26-and-bit miler, in aid of the wonderful Maggie’s Centres.

images

I was amazed – and humbled – to find that my tales of the support that Maggie’s have provided to me and my family were part of the inspiration behind Gordon’s charity choice. I’m delighted to help spread the word and encourage support for Gordon’s noble effort.

Like me, Gordon is a father of three young ‘uns, so how he’s found the energy to train for a marathon is beyond my ken! He said:

“For a few years I have held the ambition to complete a marathon but have never before got past the quick run round the block followed by a bacon sandwich. So this year I will be running the Loch Ness Marathon – one of my favourite places. To show my huge respect to all the friends, families and colleagues who have and are battling with cancer I would very much appreciate if you could show your support with a small donation to Maggie’s Cancer Centres, who provide a wide range of support and advice and a welcome place of calm at a point of greatest vulnerability.”

This is a fantastic gesture (and effort) from Gordon and if you can help in any way – even the equivalent funding of a cup of coffee – Gordon (and Maggie’s) would be delighted.

You can sponsor Gordon at: https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/Gordon-Paterson874?utm_source=Facebook&utm_medium=fundraisingpage&utm_content=Gordon-Paterson874&utm_campaign=pfp-share

Good Luck Gordon!

A x

 

 

About Andrew Slorance

Husband, father, son, brother, cyclist, pen pusher, pedant, contrarian , fights Mantle Cell Lymphoma in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

